These parts worth the premium? | FerrariChat

These parts worth the premium?

Discussion in '360/430' started by Coldhammer, Jan 20, 2018.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Coldhammer

Coldhammer Rookie

Dec 4, 2017
    looking at a 2006 430 that has a bunch of novitec parts on it. The car is going for a premium compared to stock 06. The main parts in question are Novitec Power Stage 2, Novitec Power-Optimized Exhaust system, Novitec Carbon Airbox upgrade, Novitec ECU upgrade, NOvitec KW stainless steel Sport coilovers.

I am new to the ferrari world and really don't have much knowledge of fabspeed or some of the other vendors. I can either go with this novitec setup or could buy a stock car for 20k less and go with something like the fabspeed super sport package (no coilovers obviously).

What are you guys thoughts on the novitec vs fabspeed stuff?

2. Sky Hye

Sky Hye Formula Junior
    BANNED

Apr 2, 2017
    SoCal
    What are you looking for in a car? My thoughts are that this car has been tampered with, thus more issues down the road. Do you know who or when the work was done?

I personally would not trust a car touched by anyone other than myself or a few trusted mechanics. I have had friends purchase modified vehicles and unfortunately it has ended very very badly.

If you want volume, mod it yourself, start with a valve controller and move up. Carbon airbox won’t add much power, mostly aesthetics. Novitec tunes are great, but again, would you trust a vehicle modified by someone else? Wouldn’t the fact that it’s modified hint that perhaps it’s been driven harder than most? Lastly, no seller should expect to recoup the money he put into mods. It’s a rule I’ve learned the hard way when selling four wheelers I had dumped endekess amounts of time and money into.