Torque vs stretch in rebuilding engines | FerrariChat

Torque vs stretch in rebuilding engines

Discussion in 'Technical Q&A' started by UroTrash, Jun 27, 2004.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. UroTrash

UroTrash Three Time F1 World Champ
    Consultant Owner

Jan 20, 2004
    Purgatory
    Full Name:
    Clifford Gunboat
    Let me start by saying that I'm an armchair mechanic and have not done anything bigger than a brake rebuild , a timing chain change and a clutch exchange (all on an ancient BMW 2002), so forgive me my ignorance.

I saw on speedvision the other day a show where a couple of guys were rebuilding an engine and they were not torqueing the studs but rather were using special studs that they measured lenghtwise to get the proper tightness. they said it was much better than torqueing and I think they said its the way high stress (i.e. drag racing) engines are built.

I have never hear of that before. Is it new or am I just not in the loop?

2. fatbillybob

fatbillybob Two Time F1 World Champ
    Consultant Owner

Aug 10, 2002
    socal
    on rod bolts you should always try to get a bolt stretch spec.. Some manufactueres do not list a torque spec purposly so that you have to use new bolts. Once a rod bolt is used it should not be reused. Once the metal has yield it is no good. I'm a bit crazy so when I rebuild I do bolt stretch but watch the torque too so that I know the torque is a reasonable number relative to the stretch. You know...measure twice cut once mentality.

3. PSk

PSk F1 World Champ

Nov 20, 2002
    Tauranga, NZ
    Full Name:
    Pete
    The reason for correctly torquing a bolt/stud is to get the stretch the bolt into the correct area or yield.

As said above in other posts over torquing will over stretch the bolt/stud and thus weaken it. Under torquing simply means it is not going to correct clamp the thing it is holding on to.