Total Newb...spec'ing a Portofino for fiancee's 60th BD | FerrariChat

Total Newb...spec'ing a Portofino for fiancee's 60th BD

Discussion in 'California/Portofino/Roma' started by blbenson, May 28, 2018.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. blbenson

blbenson Rookie

Apr 29, 2018
    Full Name:
    Brian Benson
    Let me just get this out of the way that I'm a total newb to the brand. Please forgive any uninformed questions or viewpoints which I'm sure to have.

My fiancee has always wanted a bespoke GT car such as a Maserati, Aston, etc. (She currently drives a rather pedestrian Lexus). I think she would absolutely fall in love with the Portofino, as I have. It's pretty much the most beautiful thing I've ever seen that has wheels. (My opinion, anyway.) As Ferrari first-timers, we are squarely in the target market for the PF.

I would like to surprise her for her 60th in October 2019. We're getting older. She's a cancer survivor (and now healthy thank goodness). At this point in life, it's time to say WTF and get her whatever she wants, cost be damned. One doesn't buy a car like this based on specs, price, etc. You buy it for the art and spirit of the thing and how your own soul interacts with the driving experience. You get a Ferrari because it's well..a Ferrari. And other cars are not. I get it...or at least I think I get it.

She would love a convertible. I have this vision of presenting the car to her with the top up. And hearing her say "But I really wanted a convertible. What about that?" I would stall as much as possible of course. Then at the right moment, she might say "What does this button do?". And I'd say "I don't know. Why don't you push it?"

Worth the price of admission right there.

I'll have lots of questions about spec'ing the car and the process of ordering.