458 - Upgrading to a 458 | FerrariChat

458 Upgrading to a 458

Discussion in '458 Italia/488/F8' started by craigburton, May 1, 2019.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. craigburton

craigburton Karting

Aug 27, 2016
    Hoping you all may be able to help... I am literally about to close on a deal on a 2011 458.. I am trading my F430, so I have some knowledge about F cars. Can you please point out what the common issues on the 458 are (the 430 has quite a few well known issues). The 458 seems to be of a much higher build quality than a 430, so hoping that it doesn’t carry as many ‘issues’ as the 430.

All advice will be greatly appreciated!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2. sharon amos

sharon amos Karting

Dec 24, 2017
    Full Name:
    sharon amos
    458 is a great car - just make sure you have taken it to inspect at a Ferrari dealer or a shop that knows these cars well.

Sent from my iPhone using FerrariChat.com mobile app

craigburton likes this.
  3. sharon amos

sharon amos Karting

Dec 24, 2017
    Full Name:
    sharon amos
    I got mine to Ferrari to add their warranty and if they approve you to add the warranty than it means that the car is perfect....

craigburton likes this.
  4. jjp11

jjp11 Karting

Sep 1, 2013
    After researching and recently buying a 2012, I've found the overwhelming majority of issues trace back to the battery being the culprit. I think if you keep it on a tender and change out the battery every year or two, you will be fine.

5. ttforcefed

ttforcefed F1 World Champ
    Rossa Subscribed

Aug 22, 2002
    yeh id say they're pretty strong cars - outside of some electric gremlins often caused by the battery there really havent been any vulnerabilities. great car to enjoy!

6. RayJohns

RayJohns F1 Veteran
    Silver Subscribed

May 21, 2006
    West Coast
    Full Name:
    Ray
    Personally, I'd stick to model years produced after Mid-2012