Weber DCNF cleaning and tuning | FerrariChat

Weber DCNF cleaning and tuning

Discussion in 'Maserati' started by f308jack, Jul 18, 2013.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. f308jack

f308jack F1 Rookie

Jun 7, 2007
    Cape Town, South Afr
    Full Name:
    Jack Verschuur
    As I have very little experience with these, and couldn't find an earlier thread, I thought it be good to have a thread on these carbs that are mounted on many of our cars. My set belongs to Khamsin # 435, a Euro-spec manual car

What I'd like to do is start from factory base-setting for carbs and linkage.

I currently have my intake manifold off the car, and step one is cleaning the outside. The carbs look good, all plating is excellent, but there was some caked-on dirt and a 'film' that made it all look kind of grubby. I first washed down with diesel, followed by un-diluted Clean Green. The latter did the trick, it loosened all dirt after a day, and I washed down again with diesel. They are clean on the outside.

Question 1)
    Were these carbs proyected with anything from the factory, and if so, with what, and if not, what do you use?

I took the eccelleration membranes out, there are no rips, so I guess that I can just re-use them.

Step 2 will be the float settings, but I find various figures.

Question 2)
    What is the correct figure for the floats?

That's where I am right now.

Best,

Jack.

2. staatsof

staatsof Nine Time F1 World Champ
    Silver Subscribed

Mar 13, 2005
    Fuggetaboutitland
    Full Name:
    Bob
    Float settings should be in the owners manual Jack. I'd use those.

If your carb bodies look nice an clean without corrosion then leave then alone.
    I'm not sure anyone knows exactly what Weber did to protect them. I've restored a set of 6 DCOEs that had to be bead blasted so I did use a protective coating process but that's not applicable here.