What temp to keep garage?? | FerrariChat

What temp to keep garage??

Discussion in 'Technical Q&A' started by KKRace, Jan 28, 2008.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. KKRace

KKRace Formula 3

Aug 6, 2007
    Rockville/Olney MD
    Full Name:
    Kevin
    This is my first year with heat in my detached garage. 1,100 sq ft. What minimum temp should I keep in the garage when I'm not working out there for a few days. I'm not an expert on dew points etc. My idea is to keep at around 45f and turn to whatever comfortable when I'm out there. Will 45 keep cars from sweating? Should I be monitoring the outside temp? I'm in MD near DC. Before I put in the heat I did have some problems with tools etc rusting from moisture attracted to cold metal. Seemed more a problem in late fall and early spring than winter. Anyone with better knowledge they'd be willing to share? Bottom line, I'm too cheap to leave it at 65 all winter.

For those that don't know what I talking about there are times where moisture condensates on the cold metal objects in the garage. I suspect it's caused by the metal objects getting cold during the cold nights and the moisture condensating on the metal like a cold beer in the summer.

2. FasterIsBetter

FasterIsBetter F1 Veteran

Jul 22, 2004
    NoNJ/Jupiter FL
    Full Name:
    Steve W.
    The problem is not when it's cold. The problem with sweating arises when you get those humid days when the temperature goes up after it has been cold. Then the moisture condenses on all that cold metal and surfaces inside the car get wet. IMHO, 45 won't do the job. My thought would be at least 55. If you are really concerned, watch the weather on a daily basis and keep the temperature in your garage above the dew point. That should keep you from having any condensation. Otherwise, if you get a humid day and you start to notice condensation, crank up the heat and dry everything out.