12 Hours of Sebring Events | FerrariChat

12 Hours of Sebring Events

Discussion in 'Other Racing' started by BartonWorkman, Jan 18, 2004.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

  1. BartonWorkman

    BartonWorkman F1 Veteran

    Nov 3, 2003
    En El 305
    Full Name:
    Barton Workman
    Ferrari is expected to be very "well represented". Aside from being
    inducted into the Sebring Hall of Fame, there will be five Ferraris competing in the GTS class, two 575 GTCs for Barron-Connor Racing,
    two 550 GT Maranellos for Care Racing and one for Team Rafanelli, leasing one of Care Racing's Le Mans winning chassis.

    360 GT Modenas are expected to challenge the new Porsche 911 GT3 RSs with entries from JMB and Risi Competizione.


    Sebring, FL - Sebring International Raceway’s Hall of Fame Selection
    Committee has announced its 2004 inductees. Sir Stirling Moss, Mario Andretti and Carroll Shelby, Bobby Rahal, Bob and Al Holbert, race official Ford Heacock Sr., and the legendary manufacturer Ferrari headline the prestigious list of inductees.

    Induction ceremonies take place Friday March 19, the day before the 52nd Annual Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring, at the Chateau Elan Hotel and Spa overlooking the raceway’s famous Hairpin Turn. The Sebring Hall of Fame luncheon is a non-profit event that benefits the Sebring International Raceway Hall of Fame Museum fund.

    Moss recorded a stunning upset win at Sebring in 1954, driving an OSCA
    with Bill Lloyd. He finished second in 1957 and set the fastest race lap three times. His stellar career includes numerous sports car and Formula One Grand Prix wins.

    Andretti is one of only four three-times winners at Sebring. His dramatic 1970 win driving a Ferrari 512S is considered one of the greatest moments in Sebring history. Andretti’s incredible career includes Indy 500 and Daytona 500 wins and the Formula One World Championship.

    Shelby and his namesake Cobras are road racing legends. As a driver,
    Shelby won Le Mans in 1959 and finished second at Sebring in 1955. His cars won the GT class at Sebring in 1964 and 65, and his Shelby American team engineered an overall win for Ford in 1966.

    Rahal won the 1987 Sebring endurance classic driving a Porsche 962 with
    Jochen Mass. In 1982 he won the pole and finished second. A long-time supporter of sports car racing, Rahal’s career includes a win at the 1986 Indy 500.

    Bob Holbert and his son Al each had remarkable careers at Sebring. Al Holbert won twice at Sebring (1976 and 81), and also recorded two
    second-place finishes. A three-time Le Mans winner, Holbert’s brilliant career was cut short in a 1988 plane crash.

    Bob Holbert drove to a record six class victories, including second
    overall in 1960 and a historic GT class win driving a Shelby Daytona Cobra Coupe in 1964.

    Ferrari becomes only the second manufacturer inducted into the Sebring
    Hall of Fame. The legendary “Prancing Horse” has won Sebring 12 times, with 16 major class wins, nine pole positions and fastest race lap 11 times. Ferrari has recorded similar success at other major sports car events in addition to its many Formula One achievements.

    Ford Heacock, Sr., a key official during the infancy of Sebring’s
    classic endurance race, will also be inducted.

    “The 2004 inductees represent some of the greatest names in road racing
    history,” stated Sebring Raceway President Tres Stephenson. “The selection committee had the difficult task of narrowing the list to this exclusive group. We are truly honored to have such a prestigious class of inductees.”

    The Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring is America’s oldest sports car
    endurance race, held on a 3.7 mile road course that originated as a Word War II B-17 training base called Hendricks Field. The premier race of the American Le Mans Series features the world’s best road racing cars and drivers.

    Previous inductees include Juan Manuel Fangio, Dan Gurney, Jim Hall,
    John Fitch, Porsche, IMSA founder John Bishop and former promoters Alec and Mary Ulmann, Charles Mendez and John Greenwood. Induction ceremonies are held every-other year.

    A limited number of tickets are available to the Sebring International
    Raceway Hall of Fame luncheon. For further information call 800-626-7223.
  2. BartonWorkman

    BartonWorkman F1 Veteran

    Nov 3, 2003
    En El 305
    Full Name:
    Barton Workman
    Tickets to the Sebring Hall of Fame induction ceremonies and reception are $150.00 and extremely limited availablity. The tickets will become available on Monday February 2nd.

    Call Gwen Tondee at Sebring International Raceway for details. 800-626-7223.


Share This Page