1989 328 Exhaust noise after shutdown | FerrariChat

1989 328 Exhaust noise after shutdown

Discussion in '308/328' started by Beard Bros., May 11, 2019.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Beard Bros.

Beard Bros. Karting

Aug 22, 2018
    Midwest USA
    Full Name:
    James
    I am still new to my 1989 328GTS and was wondering if other 308/328 owners have the same noises in the exhaust system as I do when you turn the car off after a drive. My 328 exhaust is stock and it makes a lot of pinging/sizzling noises after shutdown. I am pretty sure it is the thermal expansion-contraction of the exhaust and shields that make these noises. I have taken temperature readings all over the exhaust system and everything seems to be within normal operating temps. I am running 91 octane non-ethanol fuel and there is a small amount of water that exits the exhaust under the muffler, just like every other car I own. Just looking for some feedback from other owners to set my mind at ease that I am not cooking something under there!

RitchieCunningham likes this.
  2. moysiuan

moysiuan F1 Rookie
    Silver Subscribed

Nov 1, 2005
    Canada
    Yes, my Mondial 3.2 pops and clicks for quite sometime after shutdown. Normal. As you note it must be the thermal expansion, there are lots of pipes and joints to the muffler, all the sheilding, and the engine bay area does get quite hot due to the mid engine and exhaust proximity.

Beard Bros. likes this.
  3. Brian A

Brian A F1 Rookie

Dec 21, 2012
    SanFrancisco BayArea
    Full Name:
    1983 US 308 GTS QV
    I love the way my 308 makes all those same noises as it cools.

Beard Bros. likes this.
  4. lopena

lopena Formula Junior
    Rossa Subscribed

Nov 3, 2003
    There’s nothing wrong with your car. My bone-stock ‘88 328GTB makes all kinds of metallic noises after shutdown as the exhaust system cools.

Beard Bros. likes this.
  5. mike996