348 New Owner Question | FerrariChat

348 New Owner Question

Discussion in '348/355' started by VTLotus, Jan 8, 2022.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. VTLotus

VTLotus Rookie

Jan 12, 2017
    I am new to Ferrari ownership, just purchased my 348 TS after having been a Lotus guy for 12 years. As you can imagine the car i purchased is not perfect. The first problem i am trying to fix is the alternator/battery issue. First i need a new HW to secure the battery, just flopping around currently, feel like a trip to Lowes will fix this. But my questions are around the battery and alternator:

For the alternator is it an upgrade to go with a Nippon Denso and do the entire kit? And if so where is the best place to source? Or as i have read just get a refurbished Delco?

And for the battery, i always use Optima batteries in my cars but per the website they do not have one that fits. Is there another brand that people like?

Appreciate the help and this board has so much useful information,
    Brian
    Image Unavailable, Please Login Image Unavailable, Please Login Image Unavailable, Please Login Image Unavailable, Please Login Image Unavailable, Please Login Image Unavailable, Please Login

2. 348Jeff

348Jeff Formula 3

Oct 25, 2011
    UK
    Full Name:
    Jeff
    Congratulations on your purchase and welcome to FerraiChat! :)

Is the battery in the front or the back? If it's like mine in the back there's a small bracket which isn't too expensive that holds the battery in place. You'll need to remove the small inner wheel arch liner to access it. I would resist the urge to replace with a home made part if your able since it's such a cheap part.

Item 40 in the diagram below:

https://www.eurospares.co.uk/parts/ferrari/348-1993-tb-ts/electrical-ignition/current-generator-battery-23684

https://www.eurospares.co.uk/Search?partNumber=106525