Ferrari FF Repair Advice | FerrariChat

Ferrari FF Repair Advice

Discussion in 'Technical Q&A' started by FerrariFF-4LIFE, Feb 8, 2022.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. FerrariFF-4LIFE

Feb 8, 2022
    Full Name:
    Usman Shareef
    Hi Guys,

I am new to this forum so just want to start off by saying Hello to all!

My Ferrari FF is currently in a sad state and i am beginning to repair it and would like to pick your clever brains for some advice. I have been repairing cars as a hobby for the last 10 years, nothing major like engine rebuilds but more simple stuff like suspension components, radiators, exhaust tune ups etc.

The FF has suffered some damage to the front Right Hand Side corner. Damage includes:

- Front radiators
    - Front Right Side Wishbones, Shock Absorber, possibly the knuckle but looks visually fine
    - All the skinnier frame work around the front right hand side corner
    - PTU rad and Pipes
    - All relevant bodypanels in that area.

So far i want to get the car running in a safe manner before i begin to fix the bodywork. So first step is:

- Change any broken/ripped hoses and pipes which there are a few coolant ones and the both of the main PTU ones.
    - Change the PTU Cooler Rad
    - Install the water rad
    - The main oil pipe at the bottom of the oil tank is also leaking so that needs changing.
    - Top up Engine Oil, PTU Gear Oil and Coolant.

Therein i encounter my first obstacle, i have all the hoses which i will be swapping out within the next few days, but i need recommendation on which:

- Engine Oil and how many Litres it will take?
    Manual States: SHELL HELIX ULTRA Racing SAE 10W-60,13 litres, Any alternatives?

- PTU Gear Oil and how many Litres?
    Manual States: PTU gear oil system (4) SHELL TF 1055, 3 litres, but this oil is very hard to find, any other ones i can use?