Garage floor options? | FerrariChat

Garage floor options?

Discussion in 'Northwest' started by Cavallino Aficionado, Dec 10, 2010.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. Cavallino Aficionado

Oct 3, 2006
    Lk. Tapps/Buckley WA
    Full Name:
    Brian
    I've been debating this now for a couple years and this summer will be moving forward. I still can't seem to come to a final decision. I thought about posting this elsewhere but our PNW climate is of concern to me too. Here's the list and a few heavy weighted thoughts. Share your comments and experience please. For what it's worth the home is only 5 years old and we plan to stay here for many years.

1) Epoxy floor: I was convinced some time ago to go the Griot's epoxy route but am still hesitant that with all that effort I may still get tire lift or peeling. Cost is fair too. I think the idea of painting the floor started to wear on me after mudding, sanding, priming and painting all walls and ceiling?

2) VCT tile: This route came to mind while stumbling onto someone's project in the Showroom forum. I have some huge likes on this option but my major concern is moisture. Likes are ease of repair, simpelist prep for install, that showroom shine when waxed, suprisingly low cost.

3) Prefab garage flooring: There are many of these products out there and recently have been looking at the Motofloor product. I suppose I feel this won't have a finished look to it and have heard many of these can warp up from heat in the summers? A pro is I can take it with me and repair as needed.

4) Stained concrete: I have seen some amazing projects. I think this is great for a "warm" look in a garage but I am leaning toward clean and bright.

Thanks guys!

2. AJTozzi

AJTozzi Formula Junior

Jan 22, 2006
    Mine Hill, NJ
    Full Name:
    Anthony Tozzi
    Do you plan on doing any work on your vehicles involving fluids? If not, how about carpet?