Gun purchase | FerrariChat

Gun purchase

Discussion in 'Other Off Topic Forum' started by FIA Stewart, Oct 18, 2008.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. FIA Stewart

FIA Stewart Rookie

Sep 27, 2008
    Swanky Suite
    Full Name:
    Stewart Fiamm
    Looking for opinions on what type of gun to purchase for home protection. Plan on taking lessons also. I have zero experience with guns but have always wanted to have one in the house. Crime in Las Vegas is on the rise, just purchased better outer security doors for the house after neighbor's house was broken into last month. Another neighbor's car was stolen and others are reporting packages left by UPS and Fed Ex have been swiped.

2. DrStranglove

DrStranglove FChat Assassin
    Owner Rossa Subscribed

Oct 31, 2003
    Google Maps
    Full Name:
    DrS
    Do a search. Many threads asking that.

3. jhsalah

jhsalah Formula 3

Apr 10, 2006
    Philadelphia, PA
    Full Name:
    Jawad
    And make sure to get proper training. Gun + untrained = usual disaster. Either you accidentally kill yourself or someone else, or when you need to use it (god forbid), you freeze, or the robber takes it off you and uses it on you.

By the way -- I'm not anti-gun, have a few in the home myself, and a concealed carry license which I occassionally use (i.e. I sometimes carry). Then again, I sure as hell am not NRA, either.

Anyway, just be careful.

4. Tad Cody

Tad Cody Formula 3

Sep 9, 2006
    Over here!
    Full Name:
    Take a guess...
    I love my Glock 36 (6 rounds, .45 ACP) and I keep my Carbon 15 (30 rounds, .223) within arms reach at night as well. Many suggest the 12 gauge for home protection. That's great if you have room to swing it around... my Winchester 12g is IMO more gun than I want to wrangle in dark, close quarters situations and much harder to shoot from cover.