Help me trouble shoot my AC | FerrariChat

Help me trouble shoot my AC

Discussion in '308/328' started by yelcab, Mar 31, 2020.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. yelcab

yelcab F1 World Champ
    Consultant

Nov 29, 2001
    San Carlos, CA
    Full Name:
    Mitchell Le
    Well, I am not an AC expert so I am asking for some pointers in troubleshooting my AC system.

1. My AC stopped working some time ago, although it was working when I got the car many years ago.
    2. I tried charging it up but it did not work. In the process, I overcharged the system. When I evacuated the system to remove the engine, more than 3 lbs of R12 came out (and the shop conveniently kept it for themselves)
    3. As part of the engine out service, I changed to a new Drier, and a new valve which was clearly rusted shut. On the installation of the engine, I tried charging up the system with the old compressor and it did not take any charge. So, I just ignored AC for a while.
    4. A few months ago,
    a. I pulled a vacuum, tried charging it and it took just 1/2 lb.
    b. Hooked up a gauge set
    c. Jumped the compressor with 12V and it clicked
    d. Charged it up again and it did not take any charge. The pressure at the low side and the high side were the same at 50 psi even though the compressor was turning with the clutch engaged. That indicated to me the compressor was bad.
    e. Today, I removed the compressor and tested manually on the bench. The clutch engaged OK with 12V across it. By turning the pulley, I can feel pressure building up inside the compressor if I cover the holes up.

So, it seems the compressor is OK, or is my test not good enough?
    If compressor is OK, what is the next step in troubleshooting an AC system?
    Is there blockage? How to look for it?

2. Rifledriver

Rifledriver Three Time F1 World Champ

Apr 29, 2004
    Austin TX
    Full Name:
    Brian Crall