Launch X431 and a 550 Maranello | FerrariChat

Launch X431 and a 550 Maranello

Discussion in 'Technical Q&A' started by dennis_maine, Apr 11, 2019.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. dennis_maine

dennis_maine Karting

Sep 11, 2007
    ME
    Full Name:
    Dennis Haines
    So, I just got a rather well-used 550. It runs fine, but the check engine and the suspension lights are on, so I hooked up my Launch device (with which I have very little experience) only to find that it can't communicate with anything. It performs the scan I request, but says the module isn't present, or words to that effect. The Blue Tooth dongle is connected; the blue and green LEDs flicker as you would expect, but no one's home. I tried the Launch device on my 5 series, and it does communicate, so the fault must be in the 550.

My question is: does anyone know what this is, or is likely to be? My first thought is a dead ECU, but it does seem to run OK. Any ideas or thoughts will be appreciated.

2. flash32

flash32 F1 Veteran

Aug 22, 2008
    Central NJ
    Full Name:
    Dominick
    The launch device starting coverage on Ferraris on the 575 .. it still should have the ability to read codes using the generic eobd button

What version of x431 do you have

Maybe post some screen shots

Are you doing a health scan ?

Sent from my moto g(7) using Tapatalk

3. fatbillybob

fatbillybob Two Time F1 World Champ
    Consultant Owner

Aug 10, 2002
    socal
    I think if you search fatbillybob threads started I had that problem once. It was like serial communication could not be made and yeilds an OBD generic P code but I can't remember the issue or the solution but I found one.