News

License in One State, Residence in Another -- Issues with purchase?

Discussion in 'Ferrari Discussion (not model specific)' started by ghost, Feb 9, 2004.

  1. ghost

    ghost F1 Veteran
    Lifetime Rossa

    Dec 10, 2003
    9,842
    Singapore
    Sorry for the strange thread title, but I couldn't best figure out how to articulate the issue in a one-liner, which is as follows:

    Recently moved to NY state. Valid license is currently from IL (which is obviously where I moved from). I'm in the midst of negotating for an F-car. Assuming the sale goes through, how do I/the dealer handle the issues of living in one state, while having a license from another.

    Yes, I know I should get the license converted, and I am, but the conversion process requires a recent eye-exam, waiting in line at the DMV, etc., etc., so it will take some time -- especially given work demands. My question is really what the implications are (for ownership title, taxes, etc.) assuming I purchase the F-car before I get my NY license. Of course, I could purchase (ie, put down a deposit with the dealer), but just defer consummating the sale, if that would be easiest. On the other hand, maybe there is no issue at all -- I just don't know, which is why I would appreciate any feedback.

    Thanks much!
     
  2. To remove this ad click here.

  3. judge4re

    judge4re F1 World Champ

    Apr 26, 2003
    13,234
    Never home
    Full Name:
    Dr. Dumb Ass
    Tell the DMV the car will be garaged at one of your places and used locally, and that you still keep your primary residence in another state. I do it with my places in TN, FL, and AL with no problems.
     
  4. Bart

    Bart Formula 3

    Nov 1, 2003
    1,488
    Orange County, Calif
    Full Name:
    Bart
    Do not try that in California. If you get caught, it is nasty.
     
  5. wax

    wax Four Time F1 World Champ
    Advising Moderator

    Jul 20, 2003
    44,753
    SFPD
    Full Name:
    Dirty Harry
    "Nonresident vehicle owners who move to California must register their out-of-state vehicles in California within 20 days of the date they accept employment or establish residency in California.

    If a resident of California aquires a vehicle from another state or country, fees become due the date the vehicle enters California and must be paid within 20 days to avoid late penalties."

    And Boy Howdy - you don't want to pay fees in 2 states, let alone penalties in this one. I've seen some real stinky situations.
     

Share This Page