Martini Thread | FerrariChat

Martini Thread

Discussion in 'Drink, Smoke, and Fine Dining' started by C50, Dec 29, 2017.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. C50

C50 Formula 3

Aug 19, 2016
    How do you make your martini?
    I'm sure it will be entirely unlike 'what oil should I use' threads and we shall enjoy uniform consensus.
    I'm new to the game so I've only tried beefeaters and hendricks for the gin and dolin dry for vermouth.
    Shaken chilled and served with a twist of lemon.
    For ratio, I'm still experimenting
    What are people's brands and ratios? I'm curious to go shopping and try some new combinations
    Cheers

2. Sonoma

Sonoma Rookie

May 7, 2017
    Wine Country
    I fill a shaker with ice and add a teaspoon or two of the Dolin dry vermouth and let it sit while I collect the Hendricks from the freezer (I like it better super-cold, so it lives in the freezer) and assemble the glass, jigger, etc. Pour off the excess vermouth from the shaker into the sink while retaining the ice in the shaker. This gives me the dryness level I like - ‘residual’ vermouth only. 2 or 2 1/2 oz of Gin into the shaker and a teaspoon of olive juice if you want to dirty it up (more if you are really dirty, but too much gives me heartburn). Shake vigorously until ice forms on the shaker, pour into a glass and garnish with olives and maybe those little cocktail onions if you like them. I also like the gin called The Botanist.

3. steved033

steved033 F1 Veteran
    Owner Silver Subscribed

Apr 12, 2017
    Atlanta, GA
    Full Name:
    Steve D.
    Depends. I typically like a vodka martini, sometimes a vesper (half gin, half vodka). I'm not a fan of dirty. Olives or a little lemon for garnish is cool.

Instead of a vermouth wash, I've tried scotch. It gives it a different smoky flavor.

sjd

4. Xrayv8

Xrayv8 Formula Junior
    Silver Subscribed

Sep 18, 2004
    New Jersey