ZF ID?? | FerrariChat

ZF ID??

Discussion in 'Maserati' started by sowest, Jun 11, 2012.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. sowest

sowest Formula Junior

Aug 18, 2006
    #1 sowest, Jun 11, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
    Hi all

There is a great reservoir of knowledge in this forum and I would like to ask if anyone can identify what car this gearbox may be from. A friend stopped by today with it in the back of his truck. He said that he went to a garage sale at the residence of an elderly gentleman that had passed away. The gentleman was a collector of British cars. My friend saw this gearbox and thought that it was more interesting than all the shelves of old British stuff.

Aloha
    Larry
    Image Unavailable, Please Login

2. red27

red27 Formula Junior

Sep 7, 2010
    London UK
    Full Name:
    Mark Oliver
    Well, Firstly I am no expert on these things, but the gearbox data plate says ZF S5-20.
    A quick bit of googling reveals from ZF themselves the following.....

All in all, the S 5-20 was produced between 1964 and 1976. It was offered as an option for the models 230 SL, 250 SL, 280 SL, as well as the 300 SE, SEb, and SEL for a price of DM 1200. In total, quantities amounted to 3664 units. The transmission was supplied to Maserati with an aluminum housing; the basic concept of the design however was identical for the two transmission variants.

I believe Maserati used it in at least the Mistral. I stand by to be corrected, but hope that's at least of some help.

Regards. Mark.

3. William Abraham

William Abraham Formula Junior

Nov 21, 2010
    London, UK
    Full Name:
    William Abraham
    My ZF is being rebuilt but a ZF and Gearbox expert in the UK. He has something similar on his website but he will also know all about this if you want the full details. He is also reasonable on the rebuild.
    http://www.motorsporttransmissions.com/home