FRAM oil filter changes! | FerrariChat

FRAM oil filter changes!

Discussion in 'Vintage (thru 365 GTC4)' started by GSJFerrari, Oct 6, 2014.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

1. GSJFerrari

GSJFerrari Formula Junior
    Rossa Subscribed

Jul 12, 2010
    Stuart, FL
    Full Name:
    Greg Jones
    #1 GSJFerrari, Oct 6, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2017
  2. Bob Zambelli

Bob Zambelli F1 Rookie
    Rossa Subscribed Silver Subscribed

Nov 3, 2003
    Manning, SC
    Full Name:
    Robert G. Zambelli
    Do yourself a big favor:

Go to the Baldwin B-253.

A true quality product.

It's all I have been using for the past 30 years, in my own cars and those I've serviced.

Bob Z.

3. peterp

peterp F1 Veteran

Aug 31, 2002
    NJ
    Full Name:
    Peter
    #3 peterp, Oct 6, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2014
    It's quite amazing that they would make a design compromise like that without announcing it since the change makes it no longer suitable for any car with upside-down filter mounts. Fram does have a very poor reputation for Ferrari's independent of this. Agree with Bob that Baldwins seem to be a much better choice. I think the Baldwin models are B-253 for the bypass and B-50 for the main filter (or maybe vice versa?).

This thread shows a collapsed Fram (with standpipe): http://www.ferrarichat.com/forum/308-328/230019-ufi-oil-filter.html

4. ago car nut

ago car nut F1 Veteran
    Silver Subscribed

Aug 29, 2008
    Madison Ohio
    Full Name:
    David A.
    Fram seems to be going down hill. Know someone that purchased a new one, put it on the car(not Ferrari) and had a split on the seam. Took it back to the parts store to get another. Some of the new ones on the shelf were cracked also.

Ago

5. 2NA

2NA F1 World Champ
    Consultant Owner Professional Ferrari Technician

Dec 29, 2006
    Twin Cities
    Full Name:
    Tim Keseluk
    Don't use Fram filters!

THE END!